Remembering “Twinkle twinkle little star”

Posted on September 14, 2012

68


Like every other Indian kid, the first few English words I could speak were “Twinkle twinkle little star” without even knowing what do they mean. So here is my version of my favorite poem “TWINKLE TWINKLE LITTLE STAR”

Twinkle twinkle little star,

Can you take me with you somewhere far?

Up above the world so high,

With the most beautiful girl, let me fly.

Like a diamond in the sky,

I just want to shine with her, please do not ask me why?

 

When the blazing sun is gone,

I will never let her alone,

When she nothing shines upon,

I will make sure that for her, life is fun.

 

Then you show your little light,

I do not care if it bluish or white;

Twinkle, twinkle, all the night,

I can kiss her holding tight.

 

Then the traveler in the dark,

Afraid of listening to a street dog bark;

 Thank you for your tiny spark,

with huge relief, he started jumping like a huge shark. 

He could not see which way to go,

To walk fast or to run slow;

If you did not twinkle so;

His confidence would have remained low.

 

In the dark blue sky you keep,

I find it difficult to take my eyes off from her lip;

And often through my curtains peep,

My heart goes fast and I just listen to the beep.

For you never shut your eye,

You never gift us some private moment, please tell me why?

‘Till the sun is in the sky,

I will be with her, without letting her hurt or cry.

 

As your bright and tiny spark,

I will never let the shadow of sadness make her life dark;

Lights the traveler in the dark,

I will never be afraid again of hearing a street dog bark.

 

Twinkle, twinkle, little star,

Please ask her why is she standing so far?

How I wonder what you are,

Can I too shine like a star?

Up above the world so high,

To make a home for us, please let me try.

 Like a diamond in the sky,

I will stare at her beautiful face with a blinking eye!

 

Twinkle, twinkle, little star.

How I wonder what you are,

How I wonder what you are.

  

Posted in: Poetry