Shadow Lines

Shadow Lines

Shadow Lines

I walk on a lonely path,

With no courage to look back at my past,

With no fear to fail in future.

Leaving behind people whom I met,

I take every diversion coming my way,

Be it right or left.

I continue to walk in a path,

That leads me to my dream straight.

Where my journey would end I am not sure,

If people would see a success story in me…

 or if I will just be another failure;

I am glad now I have overcome that stage of fear.

Memories  give me strength,

Failed promises which I made to someone keeps on challenging my faith.

I smile and say, “There can never be another you…”

And I keep on walking, after taking one more deep breath.

Life is short, journey is long,

some say, to this space I do not belong.

I say, “I do not have to prove anyone wrong,

I just want to sing my life with my own written song.”

-Arindam

29 thoughts on “Shadow Lines

  1. Arindam — you are a marvelous poet. If I helped in any small way for you to believe you are a writer, I hope that soon you will also believe you are a poet. I so enjoyed this poem. Its wandering thoughts, lines, even the way you wandered the stanzas — simply lovely. And you made such a great point, about turning in so many different directions, but always following the path you set for yourself. This is now my new favorite poem of yours.

    • Melissa, you are the first person who could help me in believing that yes I can be a writer. Now if you consider me a poet, then I believe I am growing as a writer (although I still find it difficult to believe I am one). :) You always inspire me with your words, so complement from you means a lot. So thank you! And I am glad to hear that now this one is your favorite poem of mine.

  2. wonderfully penned, Arindam and that photograph, Wow. your title also, a perfect choice. my favorite line, the third one: “With no fear to fail in future…” great attitude to hold on to. thanks for the lovely poem. have a creative writing week!! ☺

    • Yes Renee, I always try to keep my individuality intact. Thanks for visiting. It’s always a pleasure to see you in my blog. I know life is not easy for you these days. Take care!!

Leave a Reply.... I look forward to a comment from you

