Few trends on which I hit the Dislike button

dislike button

Like each one of you, I am proud of my country and I really feel proud from my heart, when I say “I am an Indian”. And I really mean it. I am not trying to show my patriotism while saying this. I know I can never sacrifice my life for the sake of my country. And I really wish and hope not a single person has to sacrifice his life for the sake of his country. What I believe is, we can never make this world a better place by either sacrificing our lives or by taking other’s lives; but yes we can change things when we are alive.

Still there are some things about which I am not proud of. It has more to do with the mindset of all of us including me also and it has something to do with the system of our country and the way our society works. I can tell you how.

In my country when a young man writes a novel, he/she never forgets to mention that “it’s written by an EX-IITian”.  If you do not know what is actually IIT, then let me tell you, IIT is India’s best technical institute. But I could not understand the link between these two things.  When a person writes something, why he/she needs to underline that, he/she holds an engineering degree from one of the best institute of my country. But still things work that way here. Everyone knows, a person can never study “how to write a book” in an Engineering college. Yes that person can learn, “How to make a machine work” or “how to build a new machine”.

I never feel proud when I see a movie actor buys a sports team because he has lots of money and starts talking as if he/she knows everything about that sport and feel as if he has bought those sports men with few million dollars. I never feel proud when a person has to bid for a sportsman to make him part of his team. But things work that way in my part of world. Money sometimes worth more than talent.

I never feel proud- when I see people forget all those freedom fighters of my country, who were dead before our country got independence and only remember few people who were alive during the independence. 

I never feel proud when I see a corrupted politician promising us a better future; although he/she is the one who is making our place hell.

I never feel proud when I see our politicians entering into the parliament with white dress with the shine on. And since my childhood, I can’t get the link between a white kurta and politician. If white is the sign of purity and peace than, I doubt if some people who hold that designation have those two things in them.

I never feel proud when I see myself being comfortable with this bullsh#t system, or I may say I never feel proud to be afraid of saying that our system is wrong.

I never feel proud when I realize that I am dreaming about going to a foreign country leaving all those people whom I love; so that I can earn more to buy a big home & big car.

I never feel proud when I see a person, is afraid of a police without even committing a single crime before. It just shows there is something wrong in this system.  I always wonder, why an innocent person is afraid of those people who are there for his safety  and why an innocent person is afraid of the Judicial system, which is there to take care of his rights and to give him justice.

I never feel proud when I see, a person being treated as an outsider in his own country because he belongs to a different state and speaks a different language and eats different kind of foods.

I never feel proud while answering to the question “things I am proud of?” although I know the answer would be- rich culture. But I wonder how many of us actually understand the culture other than the dictionary meaning of it and description from the history book of our school syllabus.

I never feel proud, when I write negative things about myself or about others. But still I hope one day my list of things I am proud of will be longer than the things I am not proud of. 

44 thoughts on “Few trends on which I hit the Dislike button

  1. Yeah actors buying sports team,the bidding and talking like they know all abt the sports is actually ridiculous ! And the politician and white kurta…isn’t worth to stop and ponder even ! The common man’s fear of policeman without committing a crime really does hint something wrong in the system ! Nice thoughts there and every country has its flaws and issues just that we know ours to the roots so they seem aplenty ! It really is hard to set everything black and white but we can do our bit and i believe there’s still hope !

    • Yes Mj, while writing this post my intention was not to focus on something bad about the society where I live. Even I know that, somehow I am also responsible for all these things.
      And thanks a lot for mention of my blog in your post. You are a really kind man.

  2. Ex-IITian! Ha! Love that one!
    And I know exactly what you’re thinking of. Today, while going through the newspapers, I was thinking of writing something very similar to this. I like the way it goes :)

  3. Many of the points you bring are no different from what I see in my country – so much from the heart, Arindam. No wonder we need a significant and transformative zap – I hope it’s true that it’s coming. So many need an implosion of conscience if that’s what it takes to start afresh.

    • Amy aunty, I too hope that it’s coming. It will be much greater if our next generation can get a chance to live in a better place with a better mindset. But I do believe we are the only people who can change things; neither our government or our system has the credibility to turn things around.

  4. Simply loved it. I remember a famous Hindi film dialogue, “Mera Bharat mahaan, sau mein se ninyanve baemaan” !!! We are living under an over hyped ‘India shining’ tag whereas in reality, we are decaying from within. We are loosing ethics, culture and morals. Politics, Population, Pollution (and here i mean of all kinds… the minds of people clogged with dirt, bad thoughts & intentions etc. as well) are the topmost culprits! And i soo loved the language thing. Very apt! Am sure there is much more on your mind for this list which you haven’t mentioned. And sadly, with things progressing in such a way, this list is not gonna turn the other way in near future.
    Liked the article. Keep writing!

    • Thanks a lot for all these kind words. Yes, I too believe that India is actually not shining. A part of India and a small group of Indians are shining in reality. I belong to a small town who live in a city. So I have seen every side of this part of world. And yes, there were things which I did not want to write. It’s because for all those things we the people are responsible. To be honest I too believe things are not going to turn the other way soon. But still let’s hope, for the good. Hope is actually a good thing. :)

      • Thanks.
        1. I never feel proud when your own country fellows do not even say hello or pass a smile when they meet you in the foreign country.
        2. I never feel proud when people criticize their friends at their back.
        3.I never feel proud of myself when I have to Yes just to please someone. ( or considering that they won’t feel bad).
        4. I never feel proud of myself when I have to meet or talk to people I do not like (because they lie, they gossips about others).
        5. I never feel proud of myself when I disturb or hurt people whenever I am in a bad mood.

        • I will completely agree with you Aanchal on your list. The only thing which I was not aware of is that, “hen your own country fellows do not even say hello or pass a smile when they meet you in the foreign country”. As I have never been to outside of our country. It’s a really shame for all of us for sure.

  5. you thought i forgot this post but no, just me, late again…:(
    your words, “…we can change things when we are alive” is so true and by you expressing honestly the things you feel are not right is a start towards that change.
    thank you for sharing and inspiring us to reflect into our own lives the things we need changing.
    ~peace be with you.

    • No Sunshine, I was sure you will read this post. It’s fine that you reached late, I can understand time is a factor which influence all the things we want to do. As I am currently dealing with that, myself. :) Your words always inspires me sunshine; it may be with your posts or comments. Keep on Inspiring all of us. Thanks a lot for taking your time to read this one.

  6. The best patriotism comes from the honest patriot, who can see the best and worst sides of their home country. I’m proud to be Australian, but there’s so much of my heritage and of Australia today that I’m not proud of either. You understand your country and love it despite its faults, and by sharing and finding like-minded people, you’re helping to change it for the better, I’m sure,

    • Yes it’s completely true that, we all need to see both side of the place we live in. And yes I am glad to find so many people who are honest and ready to change the world with their honest thoughts and clear vision.
      Thanks a lot for taking your time to read this one and to share your wonderful thought here.

Leave a Reply.... I look forward to a comment from you

